April 29, 2022

Is it Legal for a Baserunner to Block the Throwing Lane?

Runner blocking first baseman's throwing lane after he took off for second base following a pickoff attempt

Is it Legal for a Baserunner to Block the Throwing Lane?

Here is the scenario: a pitcher throws over to first base after the runner has already took off for second base. The runner runs to the inner runner lane, making it difficult for the first baseman to have a good throwing lane to get the runner out at second base……would that be considered interference by the runner? Major League Umpire, Greg Gibson, and Chris Welsh discuss the correct ruling on this play in a simple and easy to understand video.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.