Site icon Baseball Rules Academy

Is it Legal for a Baserunner to Block the Throwing Lane?

Here is the scenario: a pitcher throws over to first base after the runner has already took off for second base. The runner runs to the inner runner lane, making it difficult for the first baseman to have a good throwing lane to get the runner out at second base……would that be considered interference by the runner? Major League Umpire, Greg Gibson, and Chris Welsh discuss the correct ruling on this play in a simple and easy to understand video.

Exit mobile version