September 18, 2020

Batter Hits HR and is Ejected from the Game, Does His Run Still Count?

Batter Hits HR and is Ejected from the Game, Does His Run Still Count?

Comments

Stan Dyer

I agree with James. The run counts, and the player is ejected at the end of playing action.

James D Van Dolah

Yes, run counts if batter-runner touches all bases and then is thrown out. If thrown out before touching all bases then the run would nit count.

Dave Johnson

Incorrect. The rule cite is given in the video, but as you apparently missed it:
OBR 8.02(d): … “If an umpire disqualifies a player
while a play is in progress, the disqualification shall not take
effect until no further action is possible in that play.”
Thus, a player who hits a home run could immediately turn to the umpire, say one of the many magical incantations which results in immediate ejection, and still run the bases to score his run.
In short, an ejection while the ball is live neither makes the ball dead nor does it remove anyone from the game until the ball is dead.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.