December 12, 2019

Can a Pitcher Waggle his Glove While in the Stretch?

With runners on base, the pitcher must be wary of any movement that could be construed as a balk. So, can a pitcher waggle his glove in an attempt to get the catcher to roll through the signs? Yes. This video answers the question with a clear interpretation from MLB umpire ted Barrett.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.