-
- July 29, 2020 at 12:46 pm
Greg SpencerParticipantA fly ball that meets all the requirements for an infield fly, but is not declared as such, is not an infield fly. Resulting action is allowed; however, the umpires should not allow a double play that the infield fly rule was intended to prevent. [NFHS 10.2.3g] [NCAA 2-48]
Chris, I’m not sure exactly what that last sentence is saying.
The NFHS rulebook and casebook say that even if the umpire fails to signify IFF it’s still IFF it it meets the requirements. We don’t make any adjustments to the rule just because we failed to signal.