Reply To: Retouching bases after an out of play award of bases

    J.D. Leenen
    Participant
    Seems to me the runner only needs to retouch home plate and perhaps 3rd base. Then he could cut straight accross the mound to 1st base and after touching it go to 3rd via and touching 2nd base. Here the so called “last time by”-principle would apply. Perhaps the runner does not even have to retouch 3rd before going back to 1st. I am curious what an MLB umpire would say on this matter.

    JDL

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.