-
- May 7, 2021 at 7:28 am
tzemaitisParticipantPer Jaksa/Roder: p.73 2.) If there is a runner, it is not a balk when an in-contact pitcher throws to an unoccupied base to appeal.Thus, situation 1 is incorrect, and this play is not a balk, rule on the appeal…the pitcher is not required to disengage in NFHS unless he is in the windup position where he can only pitch or step off. From the set, he is eligible to throw to all bases with a step. However, if the pitcher made some other movement which did constitute a balk, it would be considered a play and the appeal would no longer be possible.
Situation 2: The defense only loses it’s right to appeal if it initiates a play. Since the hand to mouth is an illegal action resulting in an illegal pitch, you have a play (balk or ball award), the defense is no longer eligible to appeal.