Reply To: NFHS-Appeal after a balk or illegal pitch

    Stan Dyer
    Participant
    Situation 1 and Situation 2 – By NFHS rules, the appealing team does not lose its right to appeal because of a balk.  I do not think it would be different for college, either, except that in Situation 2 touching the hand to the mouth while in contact with the pitcher’s plate is not a balk.  It’s only a balk in high school because it is considered the start of the pitching motion.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.