Reply To: improperly declared Infield fly

    kanettp30
    Participant
    Situation 1: R1, no outs. Fly ball hit to deep right field, and R1 tags up and is in between second and third base when the ball is thrown. The ball goes out of play. Is R1 awarded 3B or HP?

    Situation 2: R1 and R3, 1 out. Fly ball, R3 legally tags, and scores. R1 leaves early and is called out on appeal, but after R3 crossed the plate. Does the run score?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.