15/20 seconds or 8 seconds?

  • Post
    Mark Astolfi
    I’m confused by the new pitch clock rule. The pitcher has 15 seconds to begin his next pitch (20 seconds with runners on base.) But since the batter doesn’t have to be in the batter’s box until only 8 seconds are left, wouldn’t the pitcher in that case have only 8 seconds to begin his next pictch, since he can’t begin his delivery with an empty batter’s box?
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.