I had a situation occur in a Pony League (OBR) game I was umpiring this weekend that I wasn’t sure how to handle.
After a walk-off home run, the defensive team claimed the batter missed second base. Should I then throw a new ball to pitcher, say “play” and allow them to make the appeal at second base? My confusion is because normally after a walk-off home run the game is over so I wouldn’t put a new ball in play.
Any guidance is appreciated.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Don't strike out!
Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!
Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.