Ball thrown out of play and appeal situation

  • Post
    J.D. Leenen
    <p class=”p1″>R1, 1 out, ball hit to deep center field and very difficult to catch. However, the centerfielder makes a spectacular diving catch ending up near the wall. Meanwhile R1 has already passed 2B and thus needs to get back to 1B. A throw from the centerfielder would never get there in time after getting up from the ground. For some reason, perhaps thinking he made the 3rd out, or perhaps he is very smart, the centerfielder throws the ball into the crowd before R1 has crossed 2B on his way back to 1B.</p>
    <p class=”p1″>What would the ruling be?</p>
    <p class=”p1″>R1 gets 2 bases from the time of throw, thus scoring a run, but in addition the defense has the opportunity to appeal on first base since R1 cannot go back to 1B after the ball is dead and he had passed 2B ?</p>
    <p class=”p1″>If that is the case we may have a smart outfielder.</p>
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.