Batter interference on a Squeeze Play

  • Post
    DAVID PRITCHETT
    Participant
    2260
    R1 and R3, less than 2 outs.  Offensive team calls for a suicide squeeze play and the batter misses his bunt attempt.  In doing so, he interferes with the catcher’s attempt to tag R3 who slides into home untouched.  R1 advances to 2nd on the play.  What’s the call?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Dave Johnson
      Participant
      1775
      R3 is out for the interference by the batter, R1 returns to 1B.  Batter remains at bat with a strike or ball added to his count as appropriate (a strike if you mean “misses his bunt attempt” in the rulebook sense)
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.