Batter runs towards first base with a 3-2 count

  • Post
    R3, 2 outs, 3-1 count, the next pitch is a dropped second strike. The batter believing it was his third strike runs towards first base. In the confusion, the catcher throws the ball to first base. On this action R3 scores. What’s the proper ruling? Can an interference be called on the batter-runner ?


Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      No interference, live ball, run scores. B1 now  with 3-2.

      Shame on the catcher for not knowing the count. It’s each teams responsibility to keep track of what’s going on on the field.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.