Blown Save, win and save

  • Post
    John Bradburn
    Lorenzo blows the lead in the 5th, Reds take a 4-run lead in the 6th, Garrett pitches the bottom of the 6th (and gives up no runs) while the Reds stick Lorenzo in the outfield. Then Lorenzo pitches the last three innings giving up no runs. (This is the only save scenario where the pitcher doesn’t have to enter the game – he can already be in the game.)

    Lorenzo gets the blown save and win.  Seems Lorenzo should get the save, too.


    Per MLB:

    A save is awarded to the relief pitcher who finishes a game for the winning team, under certain circumstances. A pitcher cannot receive a save and a win in the same game.

    A relief pitcher recording a save must preserve his team’s lead while doing one of the following:

    Enter the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitch at least one inning.
    Enter the game with the tying run in the on-deck circle, at the plate or on the bases.
    Pitch at least three innings.


  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.