Can batting team appeal check swing?

  • This topic has 1 reply, 2 voices, and was last updated 4 weeks ago by Jens.
  • Post
    rick
    Participant
    This play happened in a NY Yankees game earlier this week.

    • Runner on first
    • 2 Outs
    • 1-2 Count

    The pitch bounced in front of home plate. The batter checked his swing and on a close call the home plate umpire did not rule it was a swing. The pitch glanced off the catcher’s glove and landed in the stands. That makes it a dead ball with the runner advancing to second base. My question – can the batting team ask for an appeal to the base umpire to rule it a strike, since that would make it a strikeout with the batter reaching first on the dead ball?

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Jens
      Participant
      This reply has been marked as private.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.