Does Run Count?

  • Post
    Bruce Dye
    Participant
    1110
    Runners on 2nd and 3rd.
    1 out.
    Fly ball out to CF (2nd out).
    Runner on 3rd successfully tags and scores.
    Runner on 2nd fails to tag and is called out (3rd out) well after runner on 3rd crosses the plate. The runner never actually made it back to 2nd before the ball arrived.
    Does the run count?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Jeffery Tucker
      Participant
      1115
      The run scores.

      The play on the runner at second base is an appeal play, Rule 5.09(b)(5). ¬†There is no force play applicable once the batter is retired, and thus this is a “time play.”

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.