Dropped Strike Three (3)

  • Post
    Jeremy Jones
    Participant
    1110
    If a batter has 2 strikes and all other conditions of the batter becoming a baserunner on a dropped strike 3 apply, can a batter swing “late” after seeing the ball get away from the catcher on what would have otherwise been a ball to “create” strike 3 and then advance?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Stan Dyer
      Participant
      9180
      No.  If the ball had been a ball, it would already be called, and the judgment could not be changed.  If the ball already was a strike, then swinging the bat would make no difference anyway.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.