Earned run to the wrong pitcher at the Olympics?

  • Post
    Vincenzo Russo
    I’ve just watched the olympic baseball match USA vs Israel (8-1) and after reading the boxscore, I probably found an error by the official scorer. All happened in the top of the 8th inning; that’s what it is reported by the play-by-play of the game:

    USA Inning 8
    – FILIA Eric singled to right field.
    LEICHMAN Alon to play pitcher for ISR substituting LIPETZ Shlomo.
    – Ball. FILIA Eric stole second base, FILIA Eric to second base.
    – KOLOZSVARY Mark grounded out to first base, unassisted. FILIA Eric to third base.
    – STARLING Bubba grounded out (1 RBI), pitcher to first base. FILIA Eric scored.
    – ALLEN Nick flied out to center field.

    I suppose the earned run is responsability of Lipetz, but the official scorer imputed the ER to the substitute pitcher Leichman (who retired the 3 batters faced), I missed anything there?


    box score

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Vincenzo Russo
      <p style=”text-align: left;”>Problem solved, the Official Scorer amended the first report. ER to Lipetz.</p>
Viewing 0 reply threads


  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.