Earned runs

  • Post
    Vincenzo Russo
    Participant
    Hi guys, a question for you:

    1. the catcher doesn’t catch the third strike on a wild pitch and the batter-runner is safe on first base
    2. the catcher doesn’t catch the third strike on a passed ball and the batter-runner is safe on first base

    If in both cases the batter-runner subsequently scores a run in the inning, is the run earned or unearned?

    I assume earned (1) because wild pitch is pitcher’s fault, unearned (2) because passed ball is considered such as an error in recostructing the inning.

    What do you think about that?

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Mark Astolfi
      Participant
      You are correct in both cases…earned on the wild pitch, unearned on the passed ball. But I must point out, it doesn’t matter what you or I or anybody else thinks…them’s the rules.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.