Follow Through Interference NFHS

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    I read where the NFHS rule on follow through interference is different from the OBR, can someone explain the difference for me?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      4917
      In OBR, the penalty is much more forgiving as the rule is simply to call time and return the runner to his original base as of the time of pitch, if applicable.  However, in NFHS, if the runner is stealing on the play and follow through interference occurs then it is considered batter’s interference and the batter is called out with the runner being returned to his original base.  If the pitch results in strike three, the same ruling applies in OBR, just send the runner back to 1st.  However, in NFHS a strike three would cause the batter to be out, and the runner would also then be called out on the batter’s interference.  Note: In NFHS, if the runner is not stealing on the pitch, then the rule is the same as OBR and no batter’s interference is called.  Time would be called so as to prevent the runner from advancing on continuous action.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.