Foul Tip

  • Post
    Denis
    Participant
    A fellow umpire and I were discussing the definition of a foul tip. Understanding the rule change of 2021 removing the following sentence “It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand.” So now any batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher (any part of the catcher) and is legally caught is a foul tip. A rebound off the mask or chest, for example, qualifies as a foul tip so long as the ball rebounds directly to the catcher’s hand or glove and is legally caught.

    We agree that if a rebound pops into the air it would be called a foul but what about the rebound that pops off the chest just in front of the catcher (arms length out) so he has to reach/stretch to catch it, would this meet the definition of a foul tip?

     

    • This topic was modified 1 month ago by Denis.
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.