Illegal pitch

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    If the pitcher steps off the rubber and then throws the ball to the plate, is it an illegal pitch or just a throw?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      7032
      OBR 6.02. (a) 7 – It is a balk when the pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he’s not touching the pitcher’s plate.

      Thus, it must be adjudged whether his throwing motion is “naturally associated with his pitch”.  This most commonly occurs with a suicide squeeze, and the pitcher steps off quickly and then throws home to retire the runner.  This is generally considered NOT a natural pitching motion as all parties involved are usually aware that it is an attempt to throw out the runner from third.  However, if the pitcher steps back, but then throws in a manner similar to his pitching motion, it could be called a balk.

Viewing 0 reply threads

Tagged: 

  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.