Is it always an automatic double play

  • Post
    Mike Munafo
    No outs, runner on first. Very slow roller to second baseman. He charges the ball and makes a throw to shortstop covering second base. Throw barely gets runner going to second. Runner slides through the bag and interferes with the shortstop’s throw to first. Question. The throw to first was started after the batter/baserunner had already reached first. Is it still a double play.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.