Is runner’s lane interference called on a bunt?

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    If a right handed batter lays down a bunt ad runs directly to 1B, his path takes him into fait territory. Can he be in violation of not being in the runner’s lane? Doesn’t seem fair.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      4917
      For this reason, the runner’s lane does not begin until 45 feet down the base path.  This gives the runner plenty of time to adjust his path out of the box and run legally the last half of the way to first base.  If he chooses to not correct his path, he is subject to being called out for runner’s lane interference.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.