Is this runner interference?

  • Post
    Tod Neas
    It’s always been my understanding that when a ball is hit the runner can actually purposely slow down in front of a ground ball to an infielder as long as they do not make contact with the ball or fielder and visually obstruct them. Is this actually interference or is the runner legally allowed to do this? I know if a runner is simply avoiding a ball or fielder it is fine but I am curious about the intentional distraction without hindering anything else of the fielders ability to field the ball.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Replies
      Kevin AraSmith
      Interference- Runner out
      I’d have an out for interference:

      NFHS Rule 8-4-2g intentionally interferes with a throw or a thrown ball; or he hinders a fielder on his initial attempt to field a batted ball.

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.