No touch, no tag play at home plate

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    What does the umpire do if he makes a safe call at home then realizes the runner never tagged the plate?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      7032
      Nothing.  The player is by definition still safe as he has passed or acquired home plate. The defense has the obligation to properly appeal the missed base upon which the umpire can signal the runner out.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.