When a pitcher is in the set position and does the ‘step off and not throw’ move, does it have to be the pivot foot moving first ONLY or can the front foot push at the same time as the pivot foot moves? I always thought if the front foot moved along with the pivot foot, then the throw had to be made or it was a balk (unless maybe to second base).
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Don't strike out!
Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!
Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.