Pitcher steps off rubber

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    Can a pitcher separate his hands and step off the rubber at the same time? How sticky should an umpire be about calling a balk here?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      4917
      Once the pitcher separates his hands, he has committed himself to pitch.  Stepping off the rubber alleviates his obligation to pitch as he is now an infielder.  Which came first, the chicken or the egg?  If the pitcher clearly separates, and then decides to step off, it is a balk.  If the pitcher starts to step, but before he completes his step he separates his hands, he’s fine.  If he does it at the same time, the umpire should provide some leniency.

      OBR rule 6.02 (a) comment: Umpires should bear in mind that the purpose of the balk rule is to prevent the pitcher from deliberately deceiving the base runner.  If there is doubt in the umpire’s mind, the “intent” of the pitcher should govern.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.