The pitcher attempts a pickoff throw to first base. The runner is obviously safe. The throw is in the dirt and the first baseman knocks it down. The ball rolls slowly toward the first base coach. The runner is not going anywhere. The base coach reaches down and picks up the ball and tosses it to the first baseman. What is the call here?
That is interesting. I believe coach’s interference makes the runner automatically out? Even though the runner was back safely, the ball was still in play when the coach intentionally picked the ball up. My guess is the base runner is out!
The definition of terms on page 150 of the OBR – Interference (a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play.
In this case, it can be adjudged that the fielder was not attempting to make a play so you would have nothing. However, on your broadcasters rule challenge, this question was asked and the retired MLB umpire indicated that he called two friends in the majors today and they both indicated that they would most likely adjudge interference and call the runner out.