Returning to base after foul ball

  • Post
    Kevin Fontenot
    A runner is on first and running on the pitch.  The pitch is fouled off and the runner is returning to first base.  Does the runner have to have tagged up prior to the umpire placing the ball back into play?  If not, how far back to the bag must the runner be before the ball is placed back into play?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      You can throw a new ball to the pitcher before the runner returns, but should not allow it to be put into play until the the runner is back at first base.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.