Returning to base after tag up

  • Post
    Tony Delleani
    Participant
    If a runner tags up then realizes he won’t be able to advance …upon returning to his base the defense makes a play on him. Does the defense have to tag him or just step on the base while in possession of the ball.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Replies
      Jens
      Participant
      They may tag him, but it’s enough to just step on the base. It’s an appeal play.
      thomasclark2311
      Participant

      Tony Delleani:
      If a runner tags up then realizes he won’t be able to advance …upon returning to his base the defense makes a play on him. Does the defense have to tag him or just step on the base while in possession of the ball.

      Base only?

      For me, https://baseballrulesacademy.com/expert-analysis/ is the best section of the site.
Viewing 1 reply thread

Tagged: 

  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.