In little league, there is a runner on third with 1 out. The batter hits a pop up to the outfield, the outfielder catches it. The runner advances to home, touches home and continues to the dugout, but does not enter the dugout and did not tag up on third. Can that runner still return to third base as long as he touches home while returning? If yes or no, please cite the rule.
For Little League, Rule 7.10 – Any runner shall be called out on appeal when – (b) with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, the runner fails to touch each base in order before said runner, or a missed base, is tagged. A.R. (Approved Ruling) – No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored.
The verbiage is a bit out of order for your question, but the above rule states that baserunners may advance or return to a missed base. However, at home plate, there is an approved ruling that prevents the runner from returning to the base path once a following runner has scored. If the runner is eligible to return, he is also eligible to be called out on proper appeal by the defense prior to his legal touching of the base he missed.
How often have you thought, “I wish I had concocted that”? Chris Welsh, pundit for the Cincinnati Reds, has done that with Baseball Rules Academy.
Baseball Rules Academy is a web-based stage where each standard – from MLB, NCAA, NFHS, Little League and that’s just the beginning – can be effectively looked and analyzed.
Need to realize what occurs later a Balk is called? Search it on Baseball Rules Academy. What about contrasts in translations of catcher’s impedance all through all levels? Search it on Baseball Rules Academy.