Runner Advancing On an Out

  • Post
    Brian Simpson
    Participant
    1110
    With a runner on first and less than two outs a fly ball is hit to deep left field. the left fielder catches the ball at the fence but his momentum has him crash into the gate. the gate opens and one foot of the fielder steps out of play. the runner in this situation was not awarded second base. Why?
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.