Runner interference while in contact with base

  • Post
    I have a runner on third – who returned to the bag once a pop up was hit just past the bag in foul ground. The fielder looking up to field the ball got tangled with the runner who was in  contact with the bag.  I ruled the runner had to give way to the fielder and thus imposed an interference call.  The only time I thought a runner could remain on the base as a safe haven was during an infield fly.

    Some thoughts?


Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Daniel Wroblewski
      According to OBR, seems it would be no interference (see below). The infield fly exception relates to being hit by the ball.

      Rule 6.01(a) Penalty for Interference Comment: A runner who
      is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make
      a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.
      If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base
      when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless,
      in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on
      fair or foul territory, is intentional. I

        Thanks Daniel,

        I told the mgr that I would research it  and it kept him in the game.  So far all I got is the 6.01(a). A college umpire agreed with me but I don’t see a rule to support me.

        They lost 3-2 and it bugs me I may have cost them the game.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.