Runner leaves batter’s box on dropped 2nd strike allowing 3rd to score

  • Post
    Kirk Staggs
    Participant
    1110
    Very odd scenario but we just had a one run ballgame and a kid waived at a curveball that was blocked by the catcher but takes off like a dropped 3rd strike to 1B. The ball bounces that direction and the catcher didn’t see the runner from 3rd because batter was standing out of the batter’s box on 1B line, then broke for 1st base and catcher turned and threw him out for what would’ve been the third out and game over. Instead, runner from 3rd ends up crossing the plate and was the tying run. Is there not any batter’s interference on this for leaving the box and running down to 1B? Or is it on the catcher to react to the actual count and not be distracted by this batter?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Dave Johnson
      Participant
      1785
      it’s up to the defense to know the count, outs, position of runners, etc.

      unless of course the umpire has screwed up the count – if he announced a 1-2 count that was really 1-1 and then this happens, I think he’s going to have to put the runner back on third and eat a couple spoonfuls

       

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.