Runner passes runner

  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Is it okay for the trail runner to pass a lead runner on a home run? I mean the ball is out of the ballpark, what difference would it make?
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Replies
      Roberto Saletti
      No way. The trailing runner is out as he passes the leading runner in any situation. From the scorer point of view the out is assigned to the fielder closest to the players involved.
      Tyler Ricketts
      No! The trail runner still needs to stay behind the lead runner. In the event that the trail runner passes up the lead runner, the trail runner is out. That would be a crazy way to lose a game on a potential walk-off home run with 2 outs.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.