Running to First

  • Post
    Travis Elseth
    Participant
    Situation, runner on 2nd and the count on the batter is 1-1.  There is a passed ball to make the count 2-1 and the batter runs to first and the runner on second advances to 3rd.  Then the batter/runner goes to second to trick the catcher to throw to second to get him out and the runner on third advances home on the throw to second.  Is this legal?

    The Umpire informed us that the batter may run to first on every pitch if he chooses to no matter what.

Tagged: 

  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.