Scoring Question

  • Post
    Bases loaded, 1 out, slow grounder to SS.  SS fields the ball cleanly and in enough time to get runner at home or first but has a brain lock and doesn’t pull the trigger to throw anywhere.  Everyone safe.   Seems like it should/could be ruled a Fielder’s Choice but does the lack of the fielder trying to retire a runner by making a throw or trying to reach a bag for a force out rule out FC as an option?  Doesn’t seem like E6 is an option since there was no physical error.  If not, is it ruled a hit?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      You would have to rule either hit or error, there aren’t any other choices as the fielder did not attempt to make a play on another runner which would then make a FC an option.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.