umpire hit by batted ball

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    If the base ump is hit by a batted ball deflected by the pitcher, is the ball live or dead?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      4917
      This is a live ball after the deflection.  If the ball hits the umpire directly off the bat with fielders behind him, then it is interference, dead ball and the batter gets first base and other runners advance only if forced.  If the infield is in and the umpire is behind the fielders when hit then there is no umpires interference.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.