umpire interference

  • This topic is empty.
  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    When should an umpire call interference on himself? Like if he accidentally catches a wild pitch and then drops it? Is that automatically umpire interference?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      tzemaitis
      Participant
      7032
      NFHS 5-1-1-H  ball becomes immediately dead when: (h) the umpire handles a live ball…runners would be returned to the base last acquired at the time of touching

       

      OBR may be different.  Earlier versions of the rule book stated:

      OBR 5.12 (b) 5 : If the umpire wishes to inspect the ball, he shall call time.  If the umpire otherwise handles a live ball, but the umpire releases the ball immediately, the ball remains live; otherwise the ball is dead.

      However, the 2020 rule book states OBR 5.12 (b) 5: Calling “time” and dead balls – (5) when the umpire wishes to examine the ball, consult with either manager, or for any similar cause.

      I’m not sure when OBR changed the verbiage on this section of the book or for what reason. Since, it was changed, I would infer that MLB would want it to be a dead ball, but without a reference remaining in the book, we can’t be sure.

       

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.