Umpire mechanic for catchers interference

  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1416
    Since the play stays alive after catcher’s interference, it is important for an umpire to know how the umpire signals a violation has occurred.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Replies
      Brady Hood
      Participant
      1000
      Umpire calls out interference and continues to officiate play. It’s a delayed dead ball, so the awards, if any take place after all playing action. It is up to the offensive coach to pick the result of the play or stick with his guys returning to base and batter-runner awarded first.
        Alex Coil
        Participant
        1000
        Many youth umpires often mess this one up. They must remember to let the play happen if the ball is put in play.
      Tyler Ricketts
      Participant
      1171
      It is key that umpires understand this rule. If they signal a play dead too early, it could create a bad situation.
        Brady Hood
        Participant
        1000
        You can always move guys back, but you cant give them bases. Better to be late and get it right then be early and get it wrong.
      djorissen
      Participant
      5412
      If the umpire calls catcher’s interference on a swing that results in a foul ball, can the offensive manager choose to accept the foul ball instead of the batter being put on first base? In other words, does a foul ball — or swing and a miss — meet the criteria for a “play” that can be accepted by the offensive manager instead of the CI award of the batter advancing to 1B.
      alcoraces
      Participant
      1248
      Yes. The team can accept the result of the play.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.