What constitutes a batter/runner’s move to 2nd on a wild throw to first base?

  • Post
    MacWelsh
    Participant
    1000
    A batter/runner is running through first base on a batted ball. On a wild throw to first base by an infielder, what would constitute a batter/runner’s move to first base? i.e. What would make the batter/runner eligible to be tagged out?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Replies
      Chris Welsh
      Keymaster
      1591
      Yeah, I always thought that if the runner made a sudden move toward 2B, that would put him in jeopardy. What if he makes a move but doesn’t;t actually gain ground towards 2B. Does that count?
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.