When a wild pitch goes out of play

  • Post
    Chris Welsh
    Keymaster
    1781
    [embed]https://youtu.be/wozOQ-CM498[/embed]
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Replies
      Chris Welsh
      Keymaster
      1781
      If a runner at 1B was stealing on the pitch and already past 2B when the ball rolls out of play, does he get 3b?
      Ben Levin
      Participant
      1000
      No.  The award for a pitched ball that goes out of play is one base from the time of the pitch.  The time of the pitch is defined as when the pitcher makes a motion that commits him to deliver a pitch – a fancy way to say “when the pitcher starts his delivery.”  At the time of the pitch, runner R1 had not yet touched second base, so he occupied first base, and would awarded second.
Viewing 1 reply thread
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.