Famous Paul O'Neill Blooper
I thought it was never legal for a fielder to kick a batted ball. Is the exception because after his glove touched it in fair territory, his shoe was approved equipment or his foot became an extension of his body making it legal? I’m trying to figure this one out and did Paul know it was legal when he kicked it? I assume he was asked about it at least once sometime after the game?
What about a ball rolling down first base line heading foul but the runner kicks the ball off that path and back towards fair territory? Is that a legal kick?
In answering your question, I’m assuming you’re referring to a batted ball. If the ball is in foul territory, and is still live, he should be out via rule 6.01(a)(2). If the ball is still in fair territory, he should be out via rule 6.01(a)(11).
You must be logged in to comment on posts or ask questions of our experts. Join now for free to start commenting! Sign Up
Username or Email Address