Once each inning a team may utilize a player who is not in the batting order as a special pinch-runner for any offensive player. A player may only be removed for a special pinch-runner one time during a game. The player for whom the pinch-runner runs is not subject to removal from the lineup. If the pinch-runner remains in the game as a substitute defensive or offensive player, the player may not be used again as a pinch-runner while in the batting order. However, if removed for another substitute that player, or any player not in the line-up, is again eligible to be used as a pinch-runner.
NOTE: Does not apply if the local league adopts the continuous batting order. See Rule 4.04.