Rule 5.09(a)(4):

• A pitched ball striking a bat as the batter is pulling it back after initially squaring to bunt is a foul ball (assuming the ball goes into foul territory).
• The definition of a bunt is already included in the Official Baseball Rules. The purpose of this interpretation is to clarify that with a two-strike count, a pitched ball that strikes a batter’s bat as the bat is being pulled back after initially squaring to bunt and goes into foul territory is a foul ball. The batter must, in the umpire’s judgment, intentionally meet the ball with the bat, causing it to become foul on a two-strike count to be considered a third strike.

Was this article helpful?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.