December 12, 2019

Two Strike Bunt Goes Foul (But is NOT Strike Three)

When a batter fouls off a two-strike bunt attempt it is usually called strike three. But if the batter pulls back the bat and the pitch touches the bat and rolls into foul territory, it is still a foul ball, but is it strike three? It happened in a major league game, Reds & Brewers, August 29, 2018. You won't believe how it turned out!

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.