December 12, 2019

Runner Advances on Infield Fly

Runners are legally permitted to advance on an Infield Fly, but they do so at their own risk of being tagged out. If the umpire calls Infield Fly and the ball is dropped by the fielder and the runner(s) then attempt to advance, how does the defense retire the runner? This video examines all the necessary scenarios.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.