bunt Tag Archive
When a batter is hit by a pitch while attempting to bunt, the umpire should first call “time.” If the umpire judges the batter offered at the pitch, he will call a strike on the batter and all runners return to their base. If he judges the batter did not offer at the pitch, it is a HBP (hit by pitch).
When a batter is in a bunting position with his bat extended over the plate and the pitcher delivers a wild pitch nowhere near the strike zone but the batter never pulls the bat back, is it a strike on the batter? No, it is a strike on the batter only if he makes an attempt to make contact with the pitch. Sometimes the home plate umpire will need to ask a base umpire for help to determine if the batter actually attempted to make contact with the pitch.
Rule 5.09 (a) (11): Retiring the Batter The Mariners and Red Sox played at Safeco Field on August 1, 2016. In the bottom of the sixth, Shawn O’Malley dribbled a ground ball in front of the plate. Sox catcher Sandy Leon threw to first baseman Hanley Ramirez. The throw hit off O’Malley, who advanced to third […]
The Angels hosted the Mariners on June 26. In the top of the third, the M’s had Brad Miller on second when Mike Zunino attempted a sac/bunt. As Zunino exited the batter’s box, he collided briefly with catcher Chris Ianetta. Zunino then took a step back to relinquish space to Ianetta. Plate ump Cliff Fagan […]